Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
A frugal buyer in the computer market
This is also in Chatterbox I wasn't sure where to put it

Hey guys Im new to actually learning about computer hardware so I know about different proccessors and GPUs and "what they do", fo course not "how" but that dosen't affect my question. But anyway one thing I noticed is that Intel and NVIDIA seem to release their news products or "series" of things in January every year, I would imagine this is because they would want the maximisation of profits from Christmas. My dad says he would be willing to get the laptop in my signature for xmas however would I be correct to say to wait till January as if there is new products then prices will collapse in Jan usually?

What do you wizards know about this? Would I be wise to wait "1 month"?
Thanks! Laugh
CPU: i9 20Ghz 40-core
GPU: GTX 129000 in Octo-SLI
RAM: 64GB DDREKT69
Monitor: 800x600 15" CRT

Sponsored links

it "belongs" in hardware discussion. and there's no need for multile threads with this same exact question
Sorry, probably should be moved rather than make a third, That would be some mean spamming
Um how do you move? I've seen it done on other threads.
You're right, there is *some* planning for the typical buyers seasons.
The question to ask though is: Will your product be affected by it?
I'm not sure how or if laptops see a price spike due to Christmas or not, so
maybe check some price watch history data.

One thing though:
Even that laptop won't be so great with PCSX2.
People report of issues with the i7 turbo mode and that graphic card sounds weak, too.
Ideally GPU is being released about once every 6-10 month, but as of late Nvidia is 1 generation behind and ATi AMD will release the new 6XXX series, supposedly this October but product wide availability is in November.