Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Compaq Desktop wont leave start screen, cant get into BIOS or anything, need help
My fiance's coworker gave me a call and told me her computer wouldnt work.

I took a look and did some browsing on the web to find some data about it and couldnt find any straight forth answers.

The steps that I have taken:

Disconnect the power supply from everything, starting with the hard drive. Reconnected, nothing.

Took harddrive out and repaired it on my main PC,(it was buggy), and reinstalled it. Nothing.

Made a flash BIOS CD from the number i took off of the chip, inserted CD...wouldn't even read it.

I checked to see if everything was getting power, and if there had been any dust or burn damage, nothing.

Im not a professional tech, but I know my way around and computers. This has made me feel like a monkey looking at a rock, scratching my head...wondering what to do with it.

Help would be greatly appreciated. Understand most computer language, but if you are MR SMART GUY, and speak to me in code, I will reply in Klingon. Qatlho'! (TY)

Sponsored links

You would have to test each pc component to narrow down the cause and in order to do that you will need spare parts to test out which component is working and vice-versa. But it sounds like a motherboard issue if you can't even boot to the bios.
generally if the computer doesnt POST like that, it's generally waiting for a device to become ready. I would start by disconnecting the IDE/SATA connectors from the motherboard and try booting it. If you get further, plug the cd drive or the hard drive back in and see if it still boots.

One wierd one i had, it was hanging at that same screen and i got it to boot by ejecting the dvd drive, almost like it was attempting to read the disc and failing miserably.

Edit: Modified the thread title, be careful with long subjects as MyBB seems to freak out when adding RE: to the beginning if it's too long.
[Image: ref_sig_anim.gif]