User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Dbz bt2
Author Message
Black Ops Offline
This Space Available
***

Posts: 268
Joined: May 2013
Location:
Reputation: 4
Post: #1
Dbz bt2
I've been playing dbz budokai tenkaichi 2

I got around 40 fps and the EE says 80-92%

Why is it that Even with a really crappy gpu the CPU is still the cause of the slowdown

System Specs
CPU:AMD FX 8350 3.5ghz turbo to 4ghz
GPU: Sapphire HD 7750 GDDR5
MOBO:Gigabyte GA-78LMT-USB3 Rev 5.0
RAM: 8GB
OS:Windows 8.1 64 Bit
07-16-2013 10:38 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply

Sponsored links

DaTankAC Offline
Posting Freak
****

Posts: 1.680
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: Florida, USA
Reputation: 43
Post: #2
RE: Dbz bt2
Because emulation is mainly cpu driven, whereas pc games are gpu driven.

OS: Antergos 64bit (based on Arch Linux)
(I am no longer a Windows user)
CPU: Intel Pentium G3258
GPU: Nvidia GTX 650 Ti
RAM: 8GB DDR3 @ 1600
using a Z97 MSI motherboard
07-16-2013 11:54 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Koji Offline
Pleasantly unhelpful
****

Posts: 3.030
Joined: Jul 2009
Location:
Reputation: 49
Post: #3
RE: Dbz bt2
The big problem is, as noted above, that PS2 emulation requires a ton of raw processing power. The PS2, at this point, is an over decade old console... modern GPUs can handle the tasks of the PS2 era with relative ease... but the problem is that those calls have to all be translated from MIPS to x86 code and run in real time. Real time is the true problem... If no one wanted to play PS2 games on PC as if they were running on a real console, emulation wouldn't be nearly as difficult... but if you don't do it in real time, it kind of makes games unplayable Wink

Essentially, your CPU has to translate and run code for the PS2 EE (emotion engine) CPU, 2 Vector Units, and one graphics synthesizer. Worse yet, all of those different components have to run in a precise timing order, or everything falls apart. That's not even counting all of the other little components that make up a PS2 as well... everything has to be precise, or nothing works... Your CPU essentially has to "start" and "stop". Stopping to allow for slower or harder to emulate segments of the emulator to work and catch up before it can move on to the next bit (this is why EE, VU, and GS threads almost always have wildly different %'s).

Imagine, if you will, that a PS2 was an old fashion clock with a lot of gears. You can use your PC to come up with the time completely digitally, and therefore come up with the same results on both, just wildly different ways to get there. In this case, we can't tell proper time (emulation) without the computer not just coming up with the same answer, but also going about it in the exact same way (so you aren't just calculating time, you're also calculating how each individual gear in the clock works to make said time)

*mumble rants elsewhere now*

[Image: 2748844.png]
07-17-2013 03:12 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Preet Offline
Gangsta Member
****

Posts: 1.706
Joined: Feb 2013
Location: India
Reputation: 12
Post: #4
RE: Dbz bt2
(07-16-2013 10:38 PM)Black Ops Wrote:  I've been playing dbz budokai tenkaichi 2

I got around 40 fps and the EE says 80-92%

Why is it that Even with a really crappy gpu the CPU is still the cause of the slowdown

u'r pcsx2 settings plz ?

[Image: images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQ97XTix7jr79Y24fMG7K-...UzuPZbPZzw]
My Configuration Guide For Newbies
07-17-2013 05:13 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Black Ops Offline
This Space Available
***

Posts: 268
Joined: May 2013
Location:
Reputation: 4
Post: #5
RE: Dbz bt2
(07-17-2013 03:12 AM)Koji Wrote:  The big problem is, as noted above, that PS2 emulation requires a ton of raw processing power. The PS2, at this point, is an over decade old console... modern GPUs can handle the tasks of the PS2 era with relative ease... but the problem is that those calls have to all be translated from MIPS to x86 code and run in real time. Real time is the true problem... If no one wanted to play PS2 games on PC as if they were running on a real console, emulation wouldn't be nearly as difficult... but if you don't do it in real time, it kind of makes games unplayable Wink

Essentially, your CPU has to translate and run code for the PS2 EE (emotion engine) CPU, 2 Vector Units, and one graphics synthesizer. Worse yet, all of those different components have to run in a precise timing order, or everything falls apart. That's not even counting all of the other little components that make up a PS2 as well... everything has to be precise, or nothing works... Your CPU essentially has to "start" and "stop". Stopping to allow for slower or harder to emulate segments of the emulator to work and catch up before it can move on to the next bit (this is why EE, VU, and GS threads almost always have wildly different %'s).

Imagine, if you will, that a PS2 was an old fashion clock with a lot of gears. You can use your PC to come up with the time completely digitally, and therefore come up with the same results on both, just wildly different ways to get there. In this case, we can't tell proper time (emulation) without the computer not just coming up with the same answer, but also going about it in the exact same way (so you aren't just calculating time, you're also calculating how each individual gear in the clock works to make said time)

*mumble rants elsewhere now*
^+1

System Specs
CPU:AMD FX 8350 3.5ghz turbo to 4ghz
GPU: Sapphire HD 7750 GDDR5
MOBO:Gigabyte GA-78LMT-USB3 Rev 5.0
RAM: 8GB
OS:Windows 8.1 64 Bit
07-17-2013 07:54 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 





Current time: 11-27-2014, 08:13 PM