User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Thread Closed 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Dragon Quest VIII configuration?
Author Message
Shallow Offline
Junior Member
*

Posts: 28
Joined: Mar 2009
Location:
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Dragon Quest VIII configuration?
Im getting low FPS on Dragon Quest VIII even though others are reporting full speed, can some one help me configure the emulator? At the first playable area (the camp) at 1920x1080 and 1280x920 Im getting ~30 fps.

PCSX2 1329
GSDX 1469 SSE4

Q9550@2.83
4870x2
07-26-2009 03:13 PM
Find all posts by this user

Sponsored links

NStorm Offline
jRPG Player

Posts: 18
Joined: May 2009
Location: Russia
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
RE: Dragon Quest VIII configuration?
I've runned with these settings:
GSDX r1495 SSSE3, 8-bit off, DX10 Hardware
SPU2-X 1.1.0 XAudio 2
Lilypad
Gigaherz CDDVD 0.7.0
CPU:
EErec On
VU Recs On
MTGS On
GameFixes: none
SpeedHacks: EE x2, Every checkbox on, VU Cycle Stealing = 1
Advanced: defaults

Windows 7 RC1.
07-26-2009 03:32 PM
Find all posts by this user
Larfin_Man Offline
Deaf-Mute
***

Posts: 392
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: at my PC
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
RE: Dragon Quest VIII configuration?
Firstly, reducing the resolution, assuming you're talking about the internal res, might help speed the game up a bit depending on your graphics card.
Secondly, post your speedhacks.

OS: Windows 7 64bit
CPU: Intel Core i7 3770K @3.5 GHz
RAM: 16GB DDR3 1600MHz
GPU: Nvidia GTX 680 2GB
07-26-2009 05:15 PM
Find all posts by this user
Karas Offline
Newbie

Posts: 22
Joined: May 2009
Location:
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
RE: Dragon Quest VIII configuration?
(07-26-2009 05:15 PM)Larfin_Man Wrote:  Firstly, reducing the resolution, assuming you're talking about the internal res, might help speed the game up a bit depending on your graphics card.
Secondly, post your speedhacks.

he have HD4870 X2, read his message again plz.

And that's more then enough, even for double that resolution or triple.

Your CPU is well not optimal, i have a bit lower cpu Q9450 and only when i overclocked to 3.6 i got normal speeds almost in all games, without any speed hacks.

You can do 3.6Ghz easily or use speed hacks

2600K @ 4.5ghz | Asus P8Z68 Deluxe/Gen3 | 16GB DDR3 | GTX 580 | X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro | x2 60Gb Solid 3 SSD | 64GB Samsung 830 SSD | WD Black 1T / Hitachi 2T HDD
Antec P-182 Case | Antec Kuhler 920 Water Cooler | Samsung 2233z 3D Monitor | Samsung 46C7000 3Dtv | Win7 x64 Ultimate
07-26-2009 08:29 PM
Find all posts by this user
zero29 Offline
Forum Weirdo
****

Posts: 919
Joined: May 2009
Location: Germany
Reputation: 3
Post: #5
RE: Dragon Quest VIII configuration?
(07-26-2009 03:13 PM)Shallow Wrote:  Im getting low FPS on Dragon Quest VIII even though others are reporting full speed, can some one help me configure the emulator? At the first playable area (the camp) at 1920x1080 and 1280x920 Im getting ~30 fps.

PCSX2 1329
GSDX 1469 SSE4

Q9550@2.83
4870x2

use an older gsdx revision like r1398, might net you some extra fps since your gpu is from ati. and get the latest pcsx2 beta. speed hacks might help but perhaps not that much, cause dq8 is quite gpu demanding even on native resolution.

(07-26-2009 03:32 PM)NStorm Wrote:  I've runned with these settings:
GSDX r1495 SSSE3, 8-bit off, DX10 Hardware
SPU2-X 1.1.0 XAudio 2
Lilypad
Gigaherz CDDVD 0.7.0
CPU:
EErec On
VU Recs On
MTGS On
GameFixes: none
SpeedHacks: EE x2, Every checkbox on, VU Cycle Stealing = 1
Advanced: defaults

Windows 7 RC1.

don't just enable all speed hacks, test every single one of them and then decide which are useful for this specific game. too much speedhacking might make your games run slower. also running an iso image of your game disc with linuziso cdvd is usually the fastest option.

(07-26-2009 08:29 PM)Karas Wrote:  
(07-26-2009 05:15 PM)Larfin_Man Wrote:  Firstly, reducing the resolution, assuming you're talking about the internal res, might help speed the game up a bit depending on your graphics card.
Secondly, post your speedhacks.

he have HD4870 X2, read his message again plz.

And that's more then enough, even for double that resolution or triple.

Your CPU is well not optimal, i have a bit lower cpu Q9450 and only when i overclocked to 3.6 i got normal speeds almost in all games, without any speed hacks.

You can do 3.6Ghz easily or use speed hacks

well, did you test this specific game yourself? it's very gpu demanding even on native resolution and it's always a good idea to test a game on native, if you have got speed problems with it, as too high internal resolutions are often a reason for bad fps values.

CPU Core i5-3570K@3.4GHz | GPU Nvidia Geforce GTX 570 | RAM 8GB DDR-3 1600MHz CL9 | OS Win7 Ultimate (x64) SP1
EMU PCSX2 v1.1.0 r5645 | GS GSdx SSE4 r5632 | SPU2 SPU2-X r5559 | PAD LilyPad r5403 | CDVD cdvdGigaherz r5403
07-26-2009 09:02 PM
Find all posts by this user
Karas Offline
Newbie

Posts: 22
Joined: May 2009
Location:
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
RE: Dragon Quest VIII configuration?
(07-26-2009 09:02 PM)zero29 Wrote:  
(07-26-2009 03:13 PM)Shallow Wrote:  Im getting low FPS on Dragon Quest VIII even though others are reporting full speed, can some one help me configure the emulator? At the first playable area (the camp) at 1920x1080 and 1280x920 Im getting ~30 fps.

PCSX2 1329
GSDX 1469 SSE4

Q9550@2.83
4870x2

use an older gsdx revision like r1398, might net you some extra fps since your gpu is from ati. and get the latest pcsx2 beta. speed hacks might help but perhaps not that much, cause dq8 is quite gpu demanding even on native resolution.

(07-26-2009 03:32 PM)NStorm Wrote:  I've runned with these settings:
GSDX r1495 SSSE3, 8-bit off, DX10 Hardware
SPU2-X 1.1.0 XAudio 2
Lilypad
Gigaherz CDDVD 0.7.0
CPU:
EErec On
VU Recs On
MTGS On
GameFixes: none
SpeedHacks: EE x2, Every checkbox on, VU Cycle Stealing = 1
Advanced: defaults

Windows 7 RC1.

don't just enable all speed hacks, test every single one of them and then decide which are useful for this specific game. too much speedhacking might make your games run slower. also running an iso image of your game disc with linuziso cdvd is usually the fastest option.

(07-26-2009 08:29 PM)Karas Wrote:  
(07-26-2009 05:15 PM)Larfin_Man Wrote:  Firstly, reducing the resolution, assuming you're talking about the internal res, might help speed the game up a bit depending on your graphics card.
Secondly, post your speedhacks.

he have HD4870 X2, read his message again plz.

And that's more then enough, even for double that resolution or triple.

Your CPU is well not optimal, i have a bit lower cpu Q9450 and only when i overclocked to 3.6 i got normal speeds almost in all games, without any speed hacks.

You can do 3.6Ghz easily or use speed hacks

well, did you test this specific game yourself? it's very gpu demanding even on native resolution and it's always a good idea to test a game on native, if you have got speed problems with it, as too high internal resolutions are often a reason for bad fps values.


Just tested this game, NTSC version, and yeah it works 1024x1024 with some frame drops, anything higher is overkill.
All Speed hacks except VU cycle are useless

Natural res is fine but ugly.

2600K @ 4.5ghz | Asus P8Z68 Deluxe/Gen3 | 16GB DDR3 | GTX 580 | X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro | x2 60Gb Solid 3 SSD | 64GB Samsung 830 SSD | WD Black 1T / Hitachi 2T HDD
Antec P-182 Case | Antec Kuhler 920 Water Cooler | Samsung 2233z 3D Monitor | Samsung 46C7000 3Dtv | Win7 x64 Ultimate
07-26-2009 10:32 PM
Find all posts by this user
Shallow Offline
Junior Member
*

Posts: 28
Joined: Mar 2009
Location:
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
RE: Dragon Quest VIII configuration?
I just bumped up my CPU to 3.4 and no improvement, I also ran it at native res and it ran just a tiny bit faster (~2fps). I was hoping for a magic setting but I guess there isnt one. Ill just put this one on the back burner.
07-27-2009 12:05 AM
Find all posts by this user
Karas Offline
Newbie

Posts: 22
Joined: May 2009
Location:
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
RE: Dragon Quest VIII configuration?
(07-27-2009 12:05 AM)Shallow Wrote:  I just bumped up my CPU to 3.4 and no improvement, I also ran it at native res and it ran just a tiny bit faster (~2fps). I was hoping for a magic setting but I guess there isnt one. Ill just put this one on the back burner.

This is weird, try to set everything back to default setting.

I had everything at default, vu cycle one step right, native res was 80-90 fprs

1024x1024 was 60 with occasional frame drops

2600K @ 4.5ghz | Asus P8Z68 Deluxe/Gen3 | 16GB DDR3 | GTX 580 | X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro | x2 60Gb Solid 3 SSD | 64GB Samsung 830 SSD | WD Black 1T / Hitachi 2T HDD
Antec P-182 Case | Antec Kuhler 920 Water Cooler | Samsung 2233z 3D Monitor | Samsung 46C7000 3Dtv | Win7 x64 Ultimate
07-27-2009 12:46 AM
Find all posts by this user
Kamelred Offline
Newbie

Posts: 3
Joined: Jul 2009
Location:
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
RE: Dragon Quest VIII configuration?
I get a full 60 FPS pretty much everywhere except certain outdoor areas or one part in the first town, even then it only hits 55 FPS.

GSdx 1571 SSSE3 [DX10] (1024x1024, no VSync)
PCSX2 1474 (no speed hacks, default everything pretty much)

Q6600 @ 3.6ghz
Nvidia GTX 285

I've only gotten passed the first cave though so I haven't seen how well my FPS holds up over the course of the game. Too busy playing FF12 (2048x2048 looks fantastic, its like a new game!) heh.
07-27-2009 12:59 AM
Find all posts by this user
NStorm Offline
jRPG Player

Posts: 18
Joined: May 2009
Location: Russia
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
RE: Dragon Quest VIII configuration?
Shallow
What DirectX are you using? I'm not sure how it works with DX9, I've only tested it with DX10, but probably this could be a reason if you are running DX9 mode?
07-27-2009 10:17 AM
Find all posts by this user
Thread Closed 





Current time: 11-23-2014, 03:04 PM