Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Dual cores and quad cores question.
I seems to have this belief that it's sufficient to go with dual cores as oppose to quad core when it comes to pcsx2 emulation.

Is this true? Please explain to me in simple terms how false/correct I am in this matter.

I was thinking of building pc just as media pc(for watching HD movies and shows).

At the same time I want it to have the capabilities enough just for running Dragon Quest 8/Final Fantasy XII at 3x resolution. i dont care much about newer games on PC.

Any recommendation on what kind of rig to lookout for?

I was thinking of getting Phenom II Dual cores Processor getting something along the line of 3.4 ghz.

To sum it up,
-dual cores or quad cores?
-What you think of the modern cpu with regards to pcsx2 emulation?
-rig just enough to emulate 3x gsdx on dq8/ff12?

Please be easy on the technobabbles.im really a noob when it comes to how pc work...
Windows 7 64-bit
Processor:Intel Core i5 760 (3.60Ghz @1.2v OC)
GPU:ATI Radeon HD 5870
RAM : 8192 MB DDR3 Dual Channel
RAM Speed : 541.7 MHz (2:6) @ 8-8-8-20

Sponsored links

Quad Cores are Better specially with the New Triple Threaded VU
^that's true, but not for every game, and having a dual core above 3ghz will be enough for most rpg games anyway(not sure about DQ as I don't have it, but more than enough for FFXII). Althrough "triple threaded VU" is a bs, as to be exact it's MTVU, and it add thread of VU1Tongue, not really triple VU, but pcsx2 with it does have three heavy threads and soo it CAN be potentially faster on 3(or more) core cpu's in some games.

Your most concern will be about playing in x3 internal res. That will require pretty decent GPU like hd5770 or gtx460, at least if you don't like occassional lags. And GPU will probably be the most expensive part of your cheap-secondary-system(assuming the one in the sig is primaryTongue).