FFX Settings (help)
Hello, first of all I'm going to say that I am new in the community and just downloaded and experimenting the PCSX2 to get my FFX running properly, because that will most-likely be the only game I am going to play on the emulator.

I'm not that good with this computer stuff, because I have never used emulators before and to be honest, all those plugin settings and stuff are creeping me out, because I cannot get my settings set up properly in order to get a decent stable FPS.

My computer:
MSI GX660
Intel i5-460m CPU (2,53GHz - 2,8 in turbo mode)
ATI HD5870 mobility (1gb GDDR5) GPU
4GB (2x2gb) RAM

i've looked around for some tutorials and videos around youtube etc and i keep finding videos, where the CPU is not as good as mine, although the FPS is 60.000 stable. What mine does, is that it is around ~50 half of the time and often wanders around 30-40, which is really annoying due to the lagging effect it produces..

Thank you for your attention,
ChillY

Sponsored links

Post your settings and plugins and your pcsx2 version. If you have the latest beta the game should run fine on default settings but there are a couple of things you can do to speed things up. First change to SuperVU recompiler under the VUs tag, you can also set clamping mode to none under VUs and EE/IOP(although I dont think this setting is combatible throughout the game). FFX is also quite speedhack friendly, so use all of the recommended speedhacks and try increasing the VU cyclestealing and EE cyclerate hacks by 1 or 2 ticks. Also if you are running from a disc try ripping it to an iso as this is more stable.
Specs:
CPU: C2D E8400 @ 3.6
GPU: GTX 560Ti 2Gb
MOB: Asus P5QL
RAM: Crucial 4Gb