User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Thread Closed 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Getting HD in PCSX2
Author Message
Techjar Offline
Emu Freak
**

Posts: 51
Joined: May 2009
Location: Not telling. :P
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
RE: Getting HD in PCSX2
(05-28-2009 01:52 AM)KrazyTrumpeter05 Wrote:  Unless I'm totally wrong, isn't setting the GSDX internal res to 1920x1080 making it 1080p HD? I know that 1080p is supposed to be a but more complex than just the resolution, but having a resolution match should essentially be the same thing, or at least a very close approximation, right?

Well sort of, but extra anti-aliasing is also needed to get the best HD.Tongue
05-28-2009 04:09 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user

Sponsored links

stpdrgstr Offline
Senior Member
***

Posts: 349
Joined: Dec 2008
Location:
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
RE: Getting HD in PCSX2
Some games won't get this "anti-aliasing", they keep on showing jagged edges regardless of how much internal res you put. If you want real antialiasing, and have a nvidia, use nhancer and the not-so-known trick to make hardware aa work with gsdx. Sadly, i'ts only for dx9.
05-28-2009 05:52 AM
Find all posts by this user
Sythedragon Offline
Senior Member
***

Posts: 563
Joined: Apr 2009
Location:
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
RE: Getting HD in PCSX2
HD is based on resolution, not AA.....

So setting the GDSX to 1920x1080 will give me 1080p.
/thread.

AMD Phenom II 940 @ 3.6GHZ, 4GB PC8500 @ 1100MHZ, 4870x2 @ Stock.
05-28-2009 08:46 AM
Find all posts by this user
nelsonz Offline
PCSX2 Freak
**

Posts: 162
Joined: Dec 2008
Location:
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
RE: Getting HD in PCSX2
I agree .... the GSDX D3D Internal ren set 1980X1080 = 1080p is the better. The higher the value, the higher AA will form but will cause less load to GPU compare to X16 AA ZeroGS GPU usage toward GPU.

Here is the result: (Final Fantasy XII ENGLISH)

GSDX: D3D Internal ren set 1980|1080 = GPU usage - 55% | CPU usage - 45% | FPS: 59.00
ZoeroGS: Resolution set 1980x1080 AAx16 = GPU usage - 80% | CPU usage - 45% | FPS: 39.00
(Note: I set GDSX resolution= windowed)

*Personal experience: I found out that 1980|1080 GDsx AA is less compare to ZeroGS AAx16. BUT the difference AA is not very noticeable.

(All usage value is based on average value display by my Real-time GPU monitor and Real-time CPU monitor sofware)

Both tested by my self.
=========================================
Computer Spec:
CPU: Core™2 Quad CPU Q8300 @ 2.50GHz
GPU: Sapphire HD 4870 512 MB GDDR5 (Driver ver.9.5)
RAM: 2GB x2 crossair DDR2
Plugin:
*Both same plugin used accept the Graphic plugin
*Both Smae speed hack enable.
=========================================

Happy:PCSX2:Happy
(This post was last modified: 05-28-2009 12:12 PM by nelsonz.)
05-28-2009 12:04 PM
Find all posts by this user
capdase Offline
Newbie

Posts: 20
Joined: May 2009
Location:
Reputation: 0
Post: #15
RE: Getting HD in PCSX2
I'm planning to get an e8400 (stock 3.0 ghz) and OC it to around 3.6Ghz along with a GTX 260 or Ati 4870. Would that be enough to run at HD quality? Laugh
05-29-2009 01:42 PM
Find all posts by this user
Bositman Offline
Angel of Death
********

Posts: 13.380
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Athens,Greece
Reputation: 244
Post: #16
RE: Getting HD in PCSX2
In most games yes,although there will still be games that won't run well due to emulation bugs (even if there are no graphical bugs,you can't get good speeds)

[Image: newsig.jpg]
05-29-2009 02:07 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
capdase Offline
Newbie

Posts: 20
Joined: May 2009
Location:
Reputation: 0
Post: #17
RE: Getting HD in PCSX2
@ nelsonz

1980x1080 windowed mode? You have a 30+" monitor? or am I not getting something here? Tongue
(This post was last modified: 05-29-2009 06:26 PM by capdase.)
05-29-2009 06:26 PM
Find all posts by this user
KrazyTrumpeter05 Offline
OBS Wizard
****

Posts: 1.165
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: Alexandria, VA
Reputation: 0
Post: #18
RE: Getting HD in PCSX2
Internal resolution has nothing to do with how big the program's window is. Internal resolution determines the sharpness of the image.

http://www.twitch.tv/krazytrumpeter05
Want to stream your games? Let me know and I can help you get set up with Open Broadcaster Software.
05-29-2009 07:49 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
capdase Offline
Newbie

Posts: 20
Joined: May 2009
Location:
Reputation: 0
Post: #19
RE: Getting HD in PCSX2
So which would run at a higher fps?

1) An internal resolution of 1980x1080 at windowed mode?

or

2) An internal resolution of 1280x720 at full screen mode?

assuming all plugins are the same of course.
05-30-2009 06:16 AM
Find all posts by this user
Scott Offline
PCSX2 Novice
**

Posts: 135
Joined: May 2009
Location:
Reputation: 0
Post: #20
RE: Getting HD in PCSX2
(05-30-2009 06:16 AM)capdase Wrote:  So which would run at a higher fps?

1) An internal resolution of 1980x1080 at windowed mode?

or

2) An internal resolution of 1280x720 at full screen mode?

assuming all plugins are the same of course.

Option #2. From what I understand, playing in full screen will always get you more FPS. So in a sense, internal resolution of 1980x1080 in full screen would get you better FPS then in windowed mode. Please, correct me if I am wrong though.

Intel Core 2 Duo QX9750 Extreme Edition | eVGA 790i FTW | BFG GTX 280 OC 1GB | 8GB of Patriot Viper
05-30-2009 07:16 AM
Find all posts by this user
Thread Closed 





Current time: 11-01-2014, 01:41 PM