Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Heavy frame rate drops
Hello

I need a little help. I experience big frame rate drops in games, though my computer is kinda powerful. My specs:
CPU i7-7500U (Dual core)
RAM 16 Gb
GPU NVIDIA GeForce 940MX 2GB
Win10 Home

I use the latest PCSX2 1.4.0

I started playing Dynasty Warriors 3 and for a few days it ran smooth. Then it started to lag and it's getting worse. I know this game sometimes gets laggy, but only for a few secs, but for me it lasts way longer even when there are barely any enemy on the screen. The fps can drop to 50%.

I also tried Burnout 2 and it also produces a little frame drop to 80% but it's annoying in a Burnout type game.

But the worst I've tried is the NBA Street Vol 2. I start the training made and a frame rate immediately drops to 10 fps.

I haven't tried other games yet.

My default settings are:
Emulation setting Preset 1
Video plugin:
Renderer D3D11 Hardware
Internal res 3x
and nothing else touched.

I tried different solutions but nothing really worked though the frame rate drop varies. But the NBA always performs around 10 fps.
I tried to set the preset to 2. Tried to change the res to Native. Tried every renderer mode.

My guess the problem is not in my hardware because the frame drops happen even when there is not much going on in the game and on Native res but can run smooth on 3x res with a lot of happening on the screen. Also the cpu never used more then 60%. I may missed some settings or misunderstood something and made wrong selections.

Please help me so I can enjoy those classics again!

Sponsored links

Try setting the power plan to High Performance and btw,on nvidia gpu,it's better to use OpenGL from GSdx
(02-22-2017, 02:08 AM)vsub Wrote: Try setting the power plan to High Performance and btw,on nvidia gpu,it's better to use OpenGL from GSdx