Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
How to write an emulator?
Hello there. I'm a game enthusiasm and very interested in emulation. My school does not teach me C++. My teacher said that they did it several years ago, but no longer. They think C/C++ is out of date now, and teach us Java/asp.net instead. After seeing many famous PC software such as Windows and Office written in C++, and the majority of console emulators are written in C++ as well, I decide to study C++ by myself. And at last, I become a C++ programmer, although I am just a noob.

I've got a job recently, which is 'bout a C++ project. I join the project as an apprentice, with the hope someday, when I master C++, I can write an emulator on my own. But when I ask the seniors in my company whether or not they can write an console emulator, they said that it is completely a different field -- maybe something related to embedded system or processing, and if the company has such project, even experienced programmers as them must study this from the beginning. I'm really disappointed.

I know that writting an emulator is extremely difficult, depending on the complexity of the hardware to be emulated. Even a weak console as NES requires few developers working in 1 - 2 years. And one such as the PS2 requires many years with contribution of many people, and yet it isn't fully emulated -- many games are not playable. But it does not quench the hope in my breast. I still want to learn how, even if I am never be able to do it.

I really want to know where PCSX2 programmers learned to write emulators. I do not think if there is any school that teaches them to do this. Still I don't even know where to begin, what to do in progess, and what I end up with. Can anyone give me some documentations, ebooks, tips... that help me in the first step? Any help would be very appreciated.

Sponsored links