Is it posible to compile PCSX2 in 64-bit?
Hi,
I am wondering, what benefits would it make if PCSX2 would be compiled in 64-bit? Can this be done?
Few programs (unfortunatly) that are natively in x64 do offer significant improvement in performance over their x86 variants. Since emulation is very demanding, the users with Vista and XP64 could benefit from this.

Sponsored links

There's no real improvement between x64 and x32.
| i7 860 2.8@4ghz | Scythe Mugen 2 Rev.B | Asus Maximus Formula III | G.Skill Ripjaws 4 Gigabyte | 570 GTX AMP! | Enermax 720w PSU | X-Fi Titan | OCZ Vertex 120 GB |
I'm no developer and have never read the code, but I'm assuming the performance-critical parts of PCSX2 are written in inline assembly. Converting to 64-bit means all the ASM code has to be rewritten to take advantage of the new registers (I'm assuming that's what potentially will give a speed increase). Not just a simple recompile. Of course, x86-64 can run 32-bit code, too. That's why it works, but gives you no improvement.
Well, the only "native" 64-bit software that i have are 3dsmax 2009 (both 32 and 64) and progDVB. They ARE faster. 3dsMAX has improvement (on my PC, i don't know for the others) of around 10% in rendering. ProgDVB in x86 need to hold 6-8 sec to open a chanel. In x64, it is instantaneously (i am not exaggerating, try it for yourself).
Problem is that most of the present software is x64 compatibile, or some kind of hybrid (mix of 64 and 32 bit code). Software companies are more concearn in compatibility (so they can sell it to maximum number of people). I don't know that any comercial game is 100% compiled in x64 (appart from some demos).
I remember few years ago, on Anandtech, testing Athlon 64 with newly XP64. It had beta version of DivX 64-bit and it was faster by 60% than 32-bit. I don't know if there is some official version of that codec, so that is a subject of suspicion.