Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Laptop Specifications
Not expecting much out of this but...

I started playing Persona 3 on my mother's old laptop, which has an Intel Integrated Graphics Card (yes, I know...), and it would run very slowly, at about 30 fps normally and down to 10 fps during battles. Now I am planning to buy a new computer and PCSX2 would be a side thing. So would this be an improvement on the one before.

Before (Mom's Laptop)
Intel Core 2 Duo T7100 @ 1.8 GHz
2GB RAM
Vista Home Premium SP2
Mobile Intel 965 Express Chipset

After
Intel® Core™ i7-720QM with Turbo Boost to 2.8 GHz
4GB RAM
Windows 7 Home Premium
NVIDIA GEforce 310M

I do realize that the Graphics Card on the new one is quite bad (entry level), but how much can I expect. Will it run fairly fast or will it lag as much? (Image quality barely bothers me, I just want the game running as close to normal speed as possible)

If anyone has other suggestions around the 800-900 price range for decent PCSX2 compatible computers, leave a suggestion.

Sponsored links

You should know that when one of the new Core i5/i7 processors states an "up to..." speed, it's usually refering to what Ghz it can reach when running a single threaded application. That 720QM will only reach 2.398Ghz when running 2 threads, which is what PCSX2 currently runs as. 2.4Ghz isn't horrible, but definitely not worth the price, if your primary concern is capablities with PCSX2.

Also, that 310M isn't that great, either. FYI The second digit of a graphics card (the "1" in this case) is usually more of an indication of how good it is. IIRC a 230M is better than a 320M, even.

As far as prices, there has been a couple recent threads regarding laptops. In one, that price range. I have already posted my advice, so I probably shouldn't "Double Post". They shouldn't be hard to find, though. Smile