Mgs3 Best settings?
Hello! This is my first time using a ps2 emulator, and I must admit, it's the most confusing one I've used yet!

Basically when I loaded an ISO of mgs3, I do believe i've played the slowest game of all time. At some parts it was nice and smooth, then during some cutscenes or some parts of the game, the game goes at about 30% speed. For the purposes of receiving proper help, I've reset all my settings to default.

My PC specs are:
CPU: Intel I-5 3570k @ 3.40Ghz
GPU: Nvidia Geforce GTX 660ti
Ram: 8GB
Pcsx2 Version: 1.2.1

If someone out there can lend me a hand with the settings for optimal speed, or if you require additional information, lemme know and i'll try my best to get it asap!

Sponsored links

What are the EE% and GS% readings during slowdowns?
This game should probably run just fine.

For that game you might need at some point the software renderer to fix graphical glitches. This can be toggled using F9. To get a decent speed up in the software mode you have to set the extra rendering threads in gsdx plugin configuration (bottom) to 3 or 4. It could be that the emulator switches automatically to sw mode during cut scenes. Then increasing extra rendering threads will solve your problem.

Nevertheless hardware mode should be faster.
(12-30-2014, 01:06 PM)willkuer Wrote: What are the EE% and GS% readings during slowdowns?

For that game you might need at some point the software renderer to fix graphical glitches. This can be toggled using F9. To get a decent speed up in the software mode you have to set the extra rendering threads in gsdx plugin configuration (bottom) to 3 or 4. It could be that the emulator switches automatically to sw mode during cut scenes. Then increasing extra rendering threads will solve your problem.

Thanks for a swift reply. While I cannot access the game at this time, I believe my EE% dropped down to around 20%. Fps was at a constant 60, and I have no idea what my GS was at.