Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Multiple Wi-Fi routers broadcasting the same Wi-Fi network
The title sound somewhat stupid to the experts, perhaps. I must admit that I have little knowledge about networking. I cannot tell modem, router, and access point apart (reading about them on Wikipedia messes my head up). I will try to explain my situation so everyone can understand what I actually want to ask.

My new house is between my cousin's and uncle's houses. I have a modem (which receives input from the LINE cable and output data via Ethernet cable) and a wireless router (connected to the "modem", and broadcasts a Wi-Fi network). I want to share my Wi-Fi network with my cousin and uncle, but today, after I set up everything, the signal strength was too weak because of the thick walls. Except for nearby rooms, my Wi-Fi network was not visible to them.

I intend to buy and set up 2 additional routers (or whatever it is called) in their houses. Of course I can connect them to the free Ethernet ports of my current Wi-Fi router and set up additional networks, but I want them to broadcast a single Wi-Fi network so my uncle can share his printer. I think share resources are not visible if we are connected to different Wi-Fi network.

My question are what devices should I buy and how to do it?

P.S: I already did some Googling but the preliminary results are so technical that I hardly understand them all. I will continue searching but I still want to know your answers.
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9400 | nVidia GeForce GTX 750 | 4 GiB DDR3 @ 533 Mhz | MSI G41M-P28 | Cooler Master RS-390-PMSR-A3 | Xigmatek TYR SD962 | LG Flatron W1943SE | HP KB-0316 | MotoSpeed F60

Sponsored links