Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Need advice on DIY-PC to replace my classic consoles
Hey guys,

As the title says, I could use some advice on a PC that would solely be used for the purpose of emulation.
I have quite the extensive collection of classic games and consoles and I just recently stumbled upon the idea of emulation to unify/simplify all these consoles in one machine and be able to play my games in a decent quality on my huge TV over HDMI. The PC would only be used on this TV.

Since the most power demanding of the different console-emulations would certainly be PS2 and Wii/Gamecube I'm aiming at optimizing the PC for these - emulators for older systems won't be a problem then.
I'm fairly new to the topic of emulation, but already did quite a bit of reading and getting into it.

Where I could now use some help is with the hardware. I've already studied the threads about cpu+gpu benchmarks, but they only give an overview over fps.
I'm not that much into fps and I would already be content with 30+ to max. 60fps depending on how fast a game is.
What is much more important to me is to be able to properly upscale to 1080p and apply decent AA and texture filtering so games look sharp on my TV. Maybe you could point me into a direction of some cpu, gpus that would be appropriate.

Another issue to keep in mind is noise. I really don't like those loud PCs, so I'm trying to find a good balance of power and cooling/noise - the quieter the better.

I'm currently aiming at a budget of around 500$ for the whole machine, if necessary also more. HDDs and DVD drives are not necessary to include in the budget, since I already have spare ones.

PS: Side question: Would it improve performance if I would rip my PS2 games to HDD or would it also be ok to use an external USB-DVD drive.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Sponsored links