New to this and need a little help with Sims 2 Castaway
I'm pretty new to using PCSX2 and my little brother isn't here to help me, so I've come here for help. It's just with Sims 2 Castaway, but this might apply to other games I'm thinking of getting. But basically I'm a little annoyed as I'm having to choose between being able to see all my options or speed. 

When I run the game in hardware mode (for me its the Direct3D11) the game runs fast and smooth. I am able to do what I want without it glitching around and the game runs as good as it did on the PS2 years ago. The issue is that I can't see any options. Like I'll go to my Sims inventory and I won't be able to see anything. I can't see what he has or doesn't have. I can't see hair or clothing options when making a Sim and its all just white blank spaces. 

When I run the game in any software mode, I can see all my options but it lags terribly and makes the game practically unplayable. I can see all my hair, clothing, inventory, and pretty much every option available but it's all lag and I end up getting annoyed and not playing the game.

I know my laptop isn't the best and I'm too broke for a desktop or a better laptop for the time being, so I make do with what I have and I'm not the most tech saavy guy on earth (amazing for a guy born in the age of technology). But I'll just throw everything I see that looks like it'll be helpful.

Processor: Intel® Core™ i3-3110M CPU @ 2.40GHz 
RAM: 6.00GB with 5.89 of it usable.
It's a windows 10 btw and an HP laptop. 

The version of PCSX2 I have is 1.4.0. 

So that's about it and my laptop and issues. Any advice I'd love. I know the best would be to simply buy a PS2 (which I REALLY want) or a better laptop/computer, but that costs money I don't have lol. Even Sims 3 doesn't give me this much grief and I play the game with a huge amount of CC, mods, and almost every SP and EP!