Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 3 Average
OverClocking Newbie :p
Hiiiiiii EveryOne !

i'm new in the CPU overclocking process and i'm really interested to know more about it .. okay.. first of all i want to know the defects of this operation,and how can i do it on my new CPU intel core 2 Quad Q9400 , please 'bout "cooling " i know nothing at all !!Blush so any help , any link would be appreciated Smile and maybe i get core 2 duo E7400 so how could it be then !?
thanks again !!!!

Sponsored links

Almost the entire Core 2 line is fantastic for overclocking. The best way to start is google "overclock Q9400 and <your motherboard>"

You should be able to find a TON of information that way.
http://www.twitch.tv/krazytrumpeter05
Want to stream your games? Let me know and I can help you get set up with Open Broadcaster Software.
Core 2 Quad Q9400 > Core 2 Duo E7400. It's obvious that 4 cores beat 2 cores, and besides, Core 2 Quad architecture is newer and better.

The CPU voltage is the most risky setting here. I wouldn't recommend ANYONE to go above 1.45v, unless it's certified for that. It can permanently damage components, and lower their lifecycle.

Simply turn on PC, press Del or Delete to enter BIOS. BIOSes are different, just look for CPU multiplier, CPU clock speed settings (FSB), memory ratio (set it to lowest possible), and voltage. Set the voltage to 1.45. Max your multiplier, save settings and restart. Enter BIOS and change CPU clock speeds, raising it slowly (I'd recommend adding 5 or 10 to it every "successful" overclock), restart, try again, etc until when it's booting, the computer auto-restarts itself.

Now don't be scared, plug off the computer, simply open the case, pull out the battery and put it back in, then plug in the computer.