PCSX2 for Arch Linux
Hi All,

I hope this it the right place I've installed PCSX2 from the Arch REPO & AUR but it refuses to boot & gives this message in the terminal.

(PCSX2:12399): Gtk-WARNING **: 22:33:34.451: Unable to locate theme engine in module_path: "adwaita",
Interface is initializing.  Entering Pcsx2App:: OnInit!
Applying operating system default language...
Command line parsing...
Command line parsed!
Segmentation fault (core dumped)

any Idea what it means cause I'm a noob at this .

Sponsored links

For all who updated recently and are experiencing crashing upon launching pcsx2. Please downgrade your version of lib32-pango to 1.44 until pango sorts their issues out. You can downgrade your package using this command
sudo pacman -U https://archive.archlinux.org/packages/p...pkg.tar.xz
Arch Linux's community package for the app which is on their official multilib repositories has sparked some questionable changes in the way they have compiled the binary. I chased them up about them defining OPENCL_API=ON, DISABLE_ADVANCE_SIMD=ON and EGL_API=OFF as well as building the 64-bit version of the emulator prematurely.

- OpenCL support is still experimental and we might be getting rid of it, future is unclear for it. Generally it's not included in any of the builds that are distributed as well as it being disabled by default when building the emulator. I'm glad this was disabled in the build, though.
- The reason advanced SIMD is set to be disabled is to support really old CPUs with only SSE2 support. I don't understand who would have a powerful enough CPU to run the emulator decently that doesn't support AVX2, but that was the decision made by the package maintainer.
- EGL was enabled as it is the only option in the current 1.7 developer builds of GSdx for Linux. I'm not sure the package maintainer understands this but he agrees EGL is the way to go.