User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
PS2 Character model swapping.
Asmodean Offline
★( `_´)乂(`_´ )★

PS2 Character model swapping.
Edit: This thread is over a year old, it got necro'd

So,

I started playing Final Fantasy X again recently, as i've not played it properly in about 9/10 years, and didn't remember the character models looking so gnarly, in comparison to the HP ones, and it got me thinking.

This is all for personal use by the way.

Does anyone know how to actually gain access to all the 'hidden' files on a PS2 disc, correctly? (programs to do this, don't do it right) eg, the meshes, texture's locations on the disc etc. Basically, what i'm trying to do is swap the low poly main character models for the high poly models of the same type, so when the game calls on the low poly FFB files during gameplay, it will call the high poly FFB with the low poly identifier. I've already added the missing animations (swimming/combat) to the hq ones.

This means I need to gain access to these files in order to 'swap' them?, but everything i've tried so far has been fruitless, I've also tried hex editing, but I'm not spending a year looking for the right addresses.

So, I stuck my disc on an iso, to try have a root around for the 'high quality' versions of the main characters and managed to get them extracted with a dos tool called ffxdumper, but I have yet to figuire out how to get the edited models back into the game's hidden archives.

They had some sick HQ models in this game, especially considering how old it is now.

[Click images to enlarge]

[Image: Lulu.png]

[Image: Rikku.png]

[Image: Tidus.png]

[Image: Yuna.png]

[Image: Wakka.png]

[Image: Kimahri.png]

PCSX2: Widescreen Patches
GSDX: GSdx FX Shaders
(This post was last modified: 03-23-2013 08:20 PM by Asmodean.)
01-30-2012 03:19 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply

Sponsored links

miseru99 Offline
Translator