Performance Issues
Hello,

I am new to PCSX2 and have been experimenting with a few games over the past week. However, I have encountered some slow down which seems to be mainly with audio (but maybe it is the game itself) and wanted some suggestions for improvement.

First though, I would like to say I was really impressed with how good games look if I enabled scaling with 6X Native resolution along side Direct3D 11 Hardware at 1920x1080 (VP2 for example). Doing so shows major slowdown though... even with no scaling, there is slowdown on my system, which was surprising as I thought I should be able to run at full speed.

My PC specifications are as follows (are they too slow?):
Or are additional customizations in the emulator needed?

AMD Phenom II X4 720 (3.4Ghz)
G.Skill 8GB 1066 DDR2
Two Sapphire 5770s in CrossFireX (925/1300)

Thanks

Sponsored links

Your cpu is slow for VP2 and that gpu is too weak for 6x scaling, even more so for games like VP2.
VP2 is a "megathrust" and won't work full speed on a I7 2600k @4.5ghz.

you can still set skipdraw hack to 1 to get a fps boost.
think about trying latest svn with mtvu hack too...
CPU : AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Mobo : Asus PRIME B450-PLUS
GPU : NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3070
RAM : 16 Go
How many cores can PCSX2 support? Do additional cores improve performance or is it the speed/instructions on the chip itself?

Just for the hell of it, would kind of system (CPU/GPU) would you need to run VP2 at full speed with 6x scaling at 1080p?

Also, is it possible to use load save files from a PS2 memory card with PCSX2? For example, using the a PS3 USB cable with the PS3 legacy memory card adapter?
(03-04-2012, 04:21 PM)Seraphic Wrote: How many cores can PCSX2 support? Do additional cores improve performance or is it the speed/instructions on the chip itself?

Just for the hell of it, would kind of system would you need to run VP2 at full speed with 6x scaling at 1080p?
*pcsx2 core usage:
Majority = 2 cores