User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
Potentially insufficient PSU ... Help needed ...
Omnimaxus Offline

Potentially insufficient PSU ... Help needed ...
Merry Christmas, everyone. I've got an issue here. I have a Cooler Master 500 watt PSU, but I'm concerned that it may not be enough to power my computer setup (AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition CPU and a Palit NVIDIA Geforce 460 videocard with 1 GB of VRAM). I'd just upgraded from a 350 watt PSU that'd previously provided juice to a Radeon HD 4670 (which has very low power consumption) and an AMD Phenom II X4 810 CPU (both the videocard and older Phenom were replaced by the NVIDIA card and the newer Phenom).

Problem is, when the computer is handling specific games within PCSX2 that carry a heavy load (for both the processor and videocard) like Metal Gear Solid 3, I'll see flashing on the screen and have also witnessed a couple of brief pauses while playing games (this does not happen during normal usage, and also didn't happen when I tried running 3DMark 06). I suspect that it may be the power supply, because I'd also tried out a 460 watt power supply before installing the new Phenom (and didn't have any problems), but now that I've got both the new Phenom and videocard in my case at the same time, it might be that both new components are proving to be a bit much for the 500 watt PSU.

I'm thinking that a quality 650 watt PSU should do the trick. Recommendations? Thanks.
12-25-2010 03:34 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply

Sponsored links

jmuuss Offline

RE: Potentially insufficient PSU ... Help needed ...
Does sound like a PSU issue, or maybe even a bad overclock. I have a corsair 650w in my system which powers everything nicely. Smile

[Image: necok0.jpg]
Specs:
i3-530 @ 4.3 ghz
GTX 470 OC 725/1450/1875
6 GB DDR3 RAM
12-25-2010 07:09 PM
Omnimaxus Offline