User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Problem with running the game?
Author Message
Gjinst Offline
Newbie

Posts: 7
Joined: Jul 2009
Location:
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Problem with running the game?
Hello, let me start off first by saying that I'm a bit of a noob at these things, so please dumb down the information for me a bit.

A while back (April, I think) I downloaded PCSX2 and set it up. I never used it, just grabbed my BIOS from my PS2 and created some ISOs of my games, one of them being Final Fantasy X. My sister went down to Florida about 3 days ago, and I let her take my PS2 and FFX with her, because she had not beaten it yet and really couldn't wait.
Naturally, I let her take it because I already had an Emulator and ISO ready for play (or so I believed). Today, I went to go run FFX's ISO. It started up with some shaking that I quickly fixed by pressing the F5 button. I was so excited to be able to play FFX on the computer (I'm wierd like that Tongue), but I was immediately dissapointed with the results; the game did not load! I am stuck at the 'Browser and System Configuration' screen seen on a typical PS2.
I have looked through various forms, searching for answers, but I only found basic configuration info. Finally, while I was on the verge of insanity, I decided to post in the PCSX2 forms for some help. Can anyone help me get past this screen?! It's image is permenantly burned into my retinas from staring at it for hours, waiting for a bright idea to come along.
Please leave a quick reply!
-----------------Gjinst
07-14-2009 07:20 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply

Sponsored links

echosierra Offline
PCSX2 dev wannabe
***

Posts: 619
Joined: Dec 2008
Location:
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
RE: Problem with running the game?
(07-14-2009 07:20 AM)Gjinst Wrote:  Hello, let me start off first by saying that I'm a bit of a noob at these things, so please dumb down the information for me a bit.

A while back (April, I think) I downloaded PCSX2 and set it up. I never used it, just grabbed my BIOS from my PS2 and created some ISOs of my games, one of them being Final Fantasy X. My sister went down to Florida about 3 days ago, and I let her take my PS2 and FFX with her, because she had not beaten it yet and really couldn't wait.
Naturally, I let her take it because I already had an Emulator and ISO ready for play (or so I believed). Today, I went to go run FFX's ISO. It started up with some shaking that I quickly fixed by pressing the F5 button. I was so excited to be able to play FFX on the computer (I'm wierd like that Tongue), but I was immediately dissapointed with the results; the game did not load! I am stuck at the 'Browser and System Configuration' screen seen on a typical PS2.
I have looked through various forms, searching for answers, but I only found basic configuration info. Finally, while I was on the verge of insanity, I decided to post in the PCSX2 forms for some help. Can anyone help me get past this screen?! It's image is permenantly burned into my retinas from staring at it for hours, waiting for a bright idea to come along.
Please leave a quick reply!
-----------------Gjinst

Make sure your CD/DVD plugin is configured correctly, and hit File -> Run CD/DVD.

If the problem is more complicated, we'll need your pcsx configuration.

"This thread should be closed immediately, it causes parallel imagination and multiprocess hallucination" --ardhi
07-14-2009 07:36 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Gjinst Offline
Newbie

Posts: 7
Joined: Jul 2009
Location:
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
RE: Problem with running the game?
(07-14-2009 07:36 AM)echosierra Wrote:  
(07-14-2009 07:20 AM)Gjinst Wrote:  Hello, let me start off first by saying that I'm a bit of a noob at these things, so please dumb down the information for me a bit.

A while back (April, I think) I downloaded PCSX2 and set it up. I never used it, just grabbed my BIOS from my PS2 and created some ISOs of my games, one of them being Final Fantasy X. My sister went down to Florida about 3 days ago, and I let her take my PS2 and FFX with her, because she had not beaten it yet and really couldn't wait.
Naturally, I let her take it because I already had an Emulator and ISO ready for play (or so I believed). Today, I went to go run FFX's ISO. It started up with some shaking that I quickly fixed by pressing the F5 button. I was so excited to be able to play FFX on the computer (I'm wierd like that Tongue), but I was immediately dissapointed with the results; the game did not load! I am stuck at the 'Browser and System Configuration' screen seen on a typical PS2.
I have looked through various forms, searching for answers, but I only found basic configuration info. Finally, while I was on the verge of insanity, I decided to post in the PCSX2 forms for some help. Can anyone help me get past this screen?! It's image is permenantly burned into my retinas from staring at it for hours, waiting for a bright idea to come along.
Please leave a quick reply!
-----------------Gjinst

Make sure your CD/DVD plugin is configured correctly, and hit File -> Run CD/DVD.

If the problem is more complicated, we'll need your pcsx configuration.


Right now, I'm using Linuz Iso CDVD 0.8.0 for the plugin. File -> Run CD/DVD as well as Run -> Execute both do not work, and they also yield the same result. Do you have a recommendation for changes?
07-14-2009 07:43 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
KrazyTrumpeter05 Offline
OBS Wizard
****

Posts: 1.165
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: Alexandria, VA
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
RE: Problem with running the game?
Post your full emulator specs. This includes the settings on the CPU menu, as well as the individual plugins themselves. Screen shots are the best way to do this.

Also post your system specs.

Between those two sets of information, someone should be able to figure out what is going on, as FFX is one of the most compatible games for the emulator.

Also, did you use a program like ImgBurn to make your ISO or did you just try to copy/past the contents of the game onto your hard drive?

http://www.twitch.tv/krazytrumpeter05
Want to stream your games? Let me know and I can help you get set up with Open Broadcaster Software.
(This post was last modified: 07-14-2009 07:59 AM by KrazyTrumpeter05.)
07-14-2009 07:57 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Gjinst Offline
Newbie

Posts: 7
Joined: Jul 2009
Location:
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
RE: Problem with running the game?
Graphics:
GSDx 890 (MSVC 15.00, SSE2) 0.1.14

First Controller:
LilyPad 0.9.9

Cdvdrom:
Linuz Iso CDVD 0.8.0

USB:
USBnull Driver 0.5.0

Sound:
SPU2-X 1.1.0

Second Controller:
LilyPad 0.9.9

Dev9:
DEV9null Driver 0.3.0

FireWire:
FWnull Driver 0.4.0

Bios:
USA v01.60(07/02/2002) Console


Comp Specs:

System:
Microsoft Windows XP
Media Center Edition
Version 2002
Service Pack 3

Manufactured and supported by:
Dell Dimension DXPO51
Intel®
Pentium® D CPU 3.00GHz
2.99 GHz, 2.00 GB of RAM


Is this it?
07-14-2009 08:08 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
KrazyTrumpeter05 Offline
OBS Wizard
****

Posts: 1.165
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: Alexandria, VA
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
RE: Problem with running the game?
Well, I needed to know what the individual settings were for each plugin. I also need to know your graphics card.

I can tell you right now though, that Pentium D is going to be pretty weak for emulating.

http://www.twitch.tv/krazytrumpeter05
Want to stream your games? Let me know and I can help you get set up with Open Broadcaster Software.
07-14-2009 08:17 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Gjinst Offline
Newbie

Posts: 7
Joined: Jul 2009
Location:
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
RE: Problem with running the game?
(07-14-2009 08:17 AM)KrazyTrumpeter05 Wrote:  Well, I needed to know what the individual settings were for each plugin. I also need to know your graphics card.

I can tell you right now though, that Pentium D is going to be pretty weak for emulating.

Weak as in not able to do it, or as in the speed will be low? I don't care about the speed much, just enough to be able to use it.

Graphics card:

Name: NVIDIA GeForce 7300 LE
Manufacturer: NVIDIA
Chip Type: GeForce 7300 LE
DAC Type: Integrated RAMDAC
Approx. Total Memory: 512.0 MB
Current Display Mode: 1024X768 (32 bit)(60Hz)
Monitor: Plug and Play Monitor

http://s1007.photobucket.com/albums/af20.../?newest=1

Screenshots for Sound, CDVD, and Graphics.
07-14-2009 08:40 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Bositman Online
Angel of Death
********

Posts: 13.445
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Athens,Greece
Reputation: 246
Post: #8
RE: Problem with running the game?
It will be able to run it,but pretty slowly. Your graphics card is weak as well,so don't expect any kind of playable speeds

[Image: newsig.jpg]
07-14-2009 09:55 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Gjinst Offline
Newbie

Posts: 7
Joined: Jul 2009
Location:
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
RE: Problem with running the game?
(07-14-2009 09:55 AM)Bositman Wrote:  It will be able to run it,but pretty slowly. Your graphics card is weak as well,so don't expect any kind of playable speeds

Yeah, it's an old computer, and I haven't updated the video cards yet, but I might. Do you guys have any reccomendations for someone on a budget?
07-14-2009 10:12 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Bositman Online
Angel of Death
********

Posts: 13.445
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Athens,Greece
Reputation: 246
Post: #10
RE: Problem with running the game?
I'd get the cheapest Core 2 Duo I could find with a 9600GT

[Image: newsig.jpg]
07-14-2009 10:15 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 





Current time: 11-23-2014, 08:35 PM