Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
RAM slot broken?
Sad 
i wanted to upgrade my RAM i had an 2gb RAM ( 2x1 ddr2 667 ) i knew that my mobo can support till 800 so i wanted to buy 4gb RAM ( 2x2ddr2 800 ) then i tried them out it worked cool for about 1-2 years but then they broke but i didnt sell my old ones and i put them but one of them did not work then i figure it out that the slot is broke ( i test it by switching slots ) is there any way to fix it at home or i have to let professional fix it

Sponsored links

IF the slot is broke there insn't really something you can do about that.
Try clearing your cmos (bios) with the jumper settings and try again.

I'm a computer professional and i can't remember i ever had a broken ram slot (that doesn't mean it isn't possible). I did had broken ram though but that's ages ago (i'm about 10 years in the industry). Are you sure you interswitched all rams. Not all memory is compatible with each other.

I3 530@2.93 ghz
4gb ddr3 ram
ati hd 5770

Educate men without faith and you make them clever devils.
Yeah, try using the jumper to clear CMOS. This way the motherboard will try to re-detect the RAM that are installed and reconfigure it so it boots.
CPU: i7 930 @ 2.8GHz(Everyday)/3.6GHz(Gaming)/4.0GHz(Encoding)
GPU: Geforce GTX 480 @ 850MHz/1001MHz
Motherboard: ASUS P6X58D-E
RAM: 2x3 6GB OCZ @ 1527MHz 8-8-8-24
Try to check the slot for any visible damage to it.
Also use a proper thread title next time please Wink
sory bad internet conection ( solved )
(12-02-2010, 02:09 PM)rama Wrote: Try to check the slot for any visible damage to it.
Also use a proper thread title next time please Wink
sory bad internet connection ( solved )

(12-02-2010, 07:02 AM)frosty5689 Wrote: Yeah, try using the jumper to clear CMOS. This way the motherboard will try to re-detect the RAM that are installed and reconfigure it so it boots.

that make sense i have seen that auto disabling slot is on in bios i will give it a try