Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Tech questions on Dreamcast/PS2 emulation
Hi!

I have some questions that have been driving me nuts for a while, hope I can get some info from the fine people on this board. Basically, I've been using emulators for many years, but only recently have I gotten into Dreamcast emulation. I guess I never had an interest, but booting up my old Dreamcast system recently it went and, well, just died on me Sad

Anyway, I have legit copies of over 20 games, so I decided to mess around for a while with Dreamcast emulation. The very best I could find after trying several was NullDC. However, the emulation isn't really all that good to be honest, and NullDC, my emulator of choice, seems to have stopped development. Now, is there any reason why:

1: There never seemed to be much headway made in DC emulation? NullDC isn't bad, but it is a long way from perfect. Correct me if I'm wrong, but wasn't the DC a far less powerful system than the PS2? Shouldn't emulation on modern machines be relatively trivial, or is there something I'm missing? Is it because of the lack of popularity that the system never attracted the interest to try and make it more perfect?

2: Looking at the "about" icon, I noticed these names for the Beta testers:

emwearz, Miretank, gb_away, Raziel, General Plot, Refraction, Ckemu,Falcon4ever, ChaosCode

Are some of these guys the same that have worked on PCSX2? If so, maybe they can give some more info, as I'm finding it very difficult to source good info on the Dreamcast.

Thanks!

Sponsored links

NullDC development has slowed down considerably/stopped, the last update was in April of this year as you can see here http://code.google.com/p/nulldc/source/list

NullDC is a very good emulator however, i have hardly any problems with it at all.