Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
The End of x86
I just read a pretty interesting article about what the future has in store for us. Just thought I'd link the article for others to read. I'm sad to see such talk of the end of the personal computer... Sad

http://www.zdnet.com/blog/perlow/the-lon...dows/19840

I'm interested to see what others here think of all this.
They're gonna have to pry the traditional desktop from some cold, lifeless fingers, if you ask me.

Sponsored links

as a coder i'm not bothered. this just means that assembly language is faulty for multiplatform development. but that's a know dillema from the start. it's basicly advice to write high level language code and use portable APIs to make it work on all platforms. for most arm and mobile stuff that's OGL 2.0 and for common trouble use a portable SIMD implementation instead of inline asm as usual in windows code.

meh. but good thread to scare customers who don't have to care about it that much. Wink
Wait, did that article imply that ARM will matter on desktop computing anytime soon?
That article is beyond irritating to read with the inaccuracies in what they are saying, some of it is true but not all.. not even half if you ask me. But Metro is beyond fu**ing ugly though, can you not even have your own desktop wallpaper anymore..? Can it at least be turned off so it appears you know.. like current desktops do with every OS since..... 95....?
-Core i7 6700k @ 4.5 GHz
-GIGABYTE Z170X-Gaming 5
-G.SKILL Ripjaws V 16GB DDR4 2400 @ 14-13-13-30-1T
-EVGA GTX 970 4GB @ 1380/1853 MHz
-Crucial MX100 512GB, Silicon Power S60 120GB, Toshiba 2TB 7200 RPM
-PC P & C Silencer 750 Quad
-Windows 7 x64

-----

-Core i7 4710MQ
-16GB DDR3 1866
-GTX 965M 4GB @ 1127/1353 MHz
-Mushkin ECO2 240GB, HGST 1TB 7200 RPM
-Windows 7 x64
I. I think Microsoft is enforcing a Mega-identification system..
if WGA was unsuccessful then comes ARM for hardware encrypted identification.