Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
What do you think of this buy? Need help with i7
Hey guys this is my first post but I've been using pcsx2 for the last 2 years and think its super.
My current laptop's specs are:
Core 2 duo 1.8Ghz Intel
2GB Ram
Windows Vista Home premium
NVIDIA GeForce 8400M GT

I've been playing many games at full speed throughout such as Final fantasy X and X-2, Fatal frames 1,2, resi 4, resi dead aim, dark cloud, clock tower 3 and others, however I was not able to get full speed on Metal Gear solids and ZOE2 was VERY slow.

This laptop is 4 years old now and some of the screen's diodes are broke from overuse xD . So I was think of getting a new laptop and was thinking of this one:

Intel CoreTM i7-740QM, 1.73GHz (Quad-Core)
500 GB Serial ATA (7200 rpm) [Does rpm affect pcsx2 much really?]
6 GB 1333MHz DDR3-SDRAM
NVIDIA® GeForce® GT 425M 1GB
Windows 7 home version

Ok from what I know, that should be enough RAM for most pcsx2 games and the graphics card should do I think.

My two main question are:
1)I have the option of upgrading to a solid state hard drive which many websites(impartial ones) claim is much faster than a traditional spinning disk due to no moving parts and data fragmentation. Would you recommend this a worthwhile venture or it is a minute difference.
2) I'm really really confused because my 4 year old laptop is 1.8Ghz but this new laptop with the new i7 processor is ONLY 1.73Ghz ?!? I know that pcsx2 dosen't support quad core but it still can use 2 of them i believe?

any answers to these questions would be really appreciated !! =D Laugh

If I've posted in the wrong bit or something that brakes forum rules soz, Ill move it if need be, just my first post so I don't know =( .
CPU: i9 20Ghz 40-core
GPU: GTX 129000 in Octo-SLI
RAM: 64GB DDREKT69
Monitor: 800x600 15" CRT

Sponsored links