Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
hi people im new to pcsx2 a few qustions
so i got version 4968 if that is important and it runs awsome on the games i tried so far and i want to know for future versions of pcsx2 how to get my save states to the newer version of pcsx2 so i dont have to restart the games i played from scratch everytime i update the emu other than that what should i config so the games look as good as possible im amazed how much better castlevania curse of darkness looks than i remember it on ps2 Smile

Sponsored links

You can't. Just save on a memcard as you would do on your PS2 and use the same memcard with every new PCSX2 version.
[Image: newsig.jpg]
Do not rely on savestates as primary save mechanism ever. You should enjoy every opportunity to save the game on it's own memory card as it is meant to be done.

The reason is the savestate is like a memory snapshot and changes in PCSX2 code can and probably will invalidate them in between the emulator's releases and versions. Another reason is whatever corruption that get into the game (like introduced by wrong cheat code or emulation fail for example) is recorded and returns each time the save is loaded and pass ahead in the next savestate and tend to accumulate.

Point taken, the savestate is extremely useful to have safeguard from a normal save point to another and a bless case you die in game or you need to stop the game session in an emergency, but it is NOT to substitute the memcard.

Edit, addendum: From the above one could take that is good practice, at least once and again, load the game from the memcard so to be assured no previous memory corruption exists, this grants the next savestate to be the cleanest possible.
Imagination is where we are truly real