User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
how to make pcsx2 run faster
Author Message
deatu Offline
Newbie

Posts: 7
Joined: Jan 2012
Location:
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
how to make pcsx2 run faster
im having trouble running pcsx2 as fast as the games run on the ps2. is there any way i can make it run just as well, if not better?
my specs:
64-bit OS
8GB RAM
Intel core i5 3.10GHz
Nvidia GeForce GT 520

are there any specific plugins/Bios files i might need to download and how should i configure it?
the game i was playing was DMC 3 special edition. just in case that bit of info is any use ._.;
(This post was last modified: 01-09-2012 11:20 PM by deatu.)
01-09-2012 11:15 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply

Sponsored links

Rezard Offline
The Blue Mage
*******

Posts: 3.813
Joined: Jan 2010
Location:
Reputation: 110
Post: #2
RE: how to make pcsx2 run faster
The plugins that come with the releases are typically just fine.
You will get your BIOS from your PS2 console. End of story.

Have you read the Configuration Guide?
01-09-2012 11:19 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
deatu Offline
Newbie

Posts: 7
Joined: Jan 2012
Location:
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
RE: how to make pcsx2 run faster
(01-09-2012 11:19 PM)Rezard Wrote:  The plugins that come with the releases are typically just fine.
You will get your BIOS from your PS2 console. End of story.

Have you read the Configuration Guide?

i havent really read it. im very new to using emulators. so if it isnt to much trouble could you sort of walk me through it?
01-09-2012 11:21 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Rezard Offline
The Blue Mage
*******

Posts: 3.813
Joined: Jan 2010
Location:
Reputation: 110
Post: #4
RE: how to make pcsx2 run faster
Ok, but my going rate is $200/hr. Laugh

What model is that i5? (The Core i5-2400...?)
What version of PCSX2 are you using? (0.9.8, I hope)
What settings have you changed from default?

EDIT: Oh-- and is that Windows 7 64-bit?
(This post was last modified: 01-09-2012 11:30 PM by Rezard.)
01-09-2012 11:24 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
deatu Offline
Newbie

Posts: 7
Joined: Jan 2012
Location:
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
RE: how to make pcsx2 run faster
(01-09-2012 11:24 PM)Rezard Wrote:  Ok, but my going rate is $200/hr. Laugh

What model is that i5?
What version of PCSX2 are you using? (0.9.8, I hope)
What settings have you changed from default?

EDIT: Oh-- and is that Windows 7 64-bit?

Intel core i5-2400 CPU 3.10GHz
im using 0.9.8
and all i really did was put the res to 1600 x 900
and yes windows 7 64-bit
01-09-2012 11:31 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Rezard Offline
The Blue Mage
*******

Posts: 3.813
Joined: Jan 2010
Location:
Reputation: 110
Post: #6
RE: how to make pcsx2 run faster
Ok.

Was that internal resolution in the Video (GS) plugin settings, or the window size in the Emulation Settings?
(This post was last modified: 01-09-2012 11:36 PM by Rezard.)
01-09-2012 11:35 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
deatu Offline
Newbie

Posts: 7
Joined: Jan 2012
Location:
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
RE: how to make pcsx2 run faster
(01-09-2012 11:35 PM)Rezard Wrote:  Ok.

Was that internal resolution in the Video (GS) plugin settings, or the window size in the Emulation Settings?

well i changed everything back to default settings but im pretty sure at the time it was on the plug in cofigure menu
01-09-2012 11:45 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Rezard Offline
The Blue Mage
*******

Posts: 3.813
Joined: Jan 2010
Location:
Reputation: 110
Post: #8
RE: how to make pcsx2 run faster
That would make sense.
That is a relatively high resolution for PS2 games,
and would likely be why your game was so slow.

Your GPU is on the weak side.
Go back in there and check the Native box.
You should also be able to change the renderer to Direct3D11 (Hardware).

Another thing;
Your processor is newer, and supports better insruction sets than what is default
You can change that in Plugin/BIOS Selector under Config.
Choose the highest supported, which is SSE41.

You may see a change in emulation performance already.
(This post was last modified: 01-09-2012 11:54 PM by Rezard.)
01-09-2012 11:49 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
deatu Offline
Newbie

Posts: 7
Joined: Jan 2012
Location:
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
RE: how to make pcsx2 run faster
(01-09-2012 11:49 PM)Rezard Wrote:  That would make sense.
That is a relatively high resolution for PS2 games,
and would likely be why your game was so slow.

Your GPU is on the weak side.
Go back in there and check the Native box.

oh that fixed my speed problem. thank you Laugh
but now i sort of see every character with a sort of white double.
and i dont know if this has to do with anything but dante will automatically walk downward even when im not touching the controller.
Edit: the brightness is also really bright and the screen is really shakey.(but not too big of a problem.)
(This post was last modified: 01-10-2012 12:01 AM by deatu.)
01-09-2012 11:53 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Rezard Offline
The Blue Mage
*******

Posts: 3.813
Joined: Jan 2010
Location:
Reputation: 110
Post: #10
RE: how to make pcsx2 run faster
I think this game needs a different interlacing setting than default.
You can toggle through them while playing with F5.
(interlacing may be set manually in the GS plugin settings)

Has your controller's joystick perhaps lost it's centering a bit...?
You can adjust the sensitivity and/or deadzones of your joystick(s) in the Controllers (PAD) plugin settings of Lilypad.
Just click the direction(s) of the stick on the left panel, then adjust on the right.
(This post was last modified: 01-10-2012 12:04 AM by Rezard.)
01-10-2012 12:04 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 





Current time: 11-27-2014, 03:03 PM