..:: PCSX2 Forums ::..

Full Version: ffxii fps drops
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Issue: FFxii- starts up fine everything is ok but when in populated areas and outside where the monsters are i get frame drops going from 60-40.

i read as much as i can on ways to fix this myself but considering i am new to pcsx2 i am not sure what to do.

things that i have tryed.

speedhacks tryed alot of combinations and it does seem to help but only like 5fps if that.

changing resolutions from both plugin and gs window, trying ps2 native

changed sound setting

only conclusion i can think of is my pc maybe can't handle it after seeing other topics on how hardware intensive ps2 emu can be but i hope thats not the case.

i converted the game from disc to img.
video plugin is set to d3d11 (hardware)
cpu spec:
amd phenom 9500 2.2
4gig ram
ati radeon 5770
windows 7 x64

hope i didn't leave anything out thank you for your time
(07-19-2011, 11:06 PM)skipto Wrote: [ -> ]only conclusion i can think of is my pc maybe can't handle it after seeing other topics on how hardware intensive ps2 emu can be but i hope thats not the case.

Quote:amd phenom 9500 2.2

Looks right, that's a pretty weak CPU.

You can also try reducing the EE/VU clamps to 'none' or using superVU as VU recompiler but this can bring extra instability accompanied with speedhacks.
disable the TLB fix and you might get some more performance.

too bad windows vista and 7 enforce it....
Looking at your specifications on your computer, I can probably say that your clock speed on the AMD Phenom is too slow. PCSX2 requires fast clock speeds versus the number of cores because it is a Dual core application. What else I can tell you is that an Intel Core 2 Duo running at 3GHz runs faster then your Phenom and 3GHz is (in my opinion) a minimum to running any games in PCSX2.

All this being said, I couldn't confirm that it is your CPU or not.