..:: PCSX2 Forums ::..

Full Version: Sweet Spot. Native Res lack of artifacts. High Res goodness
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello all,

I am new to pcsx2. I have been fiddling with the settings trying to find a sweet spot for my settings.

I got the latest build from here:
http://buildbot.orphis.net/pcsx2/

I like the native resolution because it doesn't have those text artifacts. I don't like how horrid it looks. I used page up and it smoothed out the edges, but the text is now very blurry. I also set msaa=8 in the gsdx.ini file. It looks okay, but it adds artifacts to my text. (I also did AllowHacks=1 and set HW AA to 8. Again Artifacts)

Is there a way to have a higher resolution than native, without the text artifacts?

The game is Dragon Quest 8.

My setup is:
core i5 @4ghz
gtx-480
16gigs of ram

Thanks
Supposedly there was a flag that enabled you to do higher res in software mode which apparently looks really nice and they are planning a rewrite of the texture catch to something similar but at the moment not really though the artifacts exist in varying degrees or not on a game by game basis.
(08-02-2011, 07:26 AM)dralor Wrote: [ -> ]Supposedly there was a flag that enabled you to do higher res in software mode which apparently looks really nice and they are planning a rewrite of the texture catch to something similar but at the moment not really though the artifacts exist in varying degrees or not on a game by game basis.

That's exciting. I would love to run a higher res in software mode! Do you know where the flag might be?
Nope it'd be really really slow but all I saw mention of it was one svn comment without further explaination. For all I know it could of been someones attempt at a joke.
There's currently no way to get higher quality rendering without those text artefacts in DQ8.
I don't think there'll ever be one, too.