..:: PCSX2 Forums ::..

Full Version: Adding more Ram will increase performance?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hello there amigos.
I recently joined the emulation world and I started playing one of my favorites games "Final Fantasy X" the game runs pretty smooth at 60 fps. My laptop is not really a "gamer" laptop, but it has very decent specs and I was thinking if maybe adding more ram would increase overall performance.

These are my specs:

Intel i5 processor 2.5 ghz with turboboost 3.1 ghz
4 gb ram
Ati radeon hd 7550/7650m 1 gb dedicated
Windows 7 ultimate 64 bit

I'm using pcsx2 1.0.0 built with gsd directx11 hardware, using a custom resolution of 1366x768 with 2x AA.

The reason I was wondering if adding extra ram (let's say another 4gb) will increase overall performance is because the game suffers from ocassional framerate dropdowns (sometimes during some spells) going down to 40 fps and then returning to 60. I'm not really good with computer settings or stuff and I'm not really sure how the emulator use the system resources in order to get good performance so that's why i'm here to ask the experts Wink hope you can guide me.
no it wont help at all.

try these settings:

graphics settings
native (2x tops, but then you wouldnt have always 60fps)
hardware hacks skipdraw = 1 (fixes some effects)

speedhacks:
EEcyclerate 2
mtvu hack enabled
(02-05-2013, 12:04 PM)WarWeeny Wrote: [ -> ]no it wont help at all.

try these settings:

graphics settings
native (2x tops, but then you wouldnt have always 60fps)
hardware hacks skipdraw = 1 (fixes some effects)

speedhacks:
EEcyclerate 2
mtvu hack enabled