..:: PCSX2 Forums ::..

Full Version: Cheat Engine and PCSX2 feature request
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
First of all pcsx2 is a great emulator. Recently I started playing Xenosaga. I wanted to create a script via cheat engine to double my tech points gained. On a PC game it is pretty simple. You just simply find the function and write a new script to replace it. You can't do that with the emulator though because it uses JIT or so I have read. The code just appears as mov ....,edx. I know pcsx2dis exists but it doesn't have the various injection methods that cheat engine uses. I don't see a good way to write a script using it. 

My request is to somehow implement the features from cheat engine into pcsx2. It would scan the code that would be assembled before it actually is instead of after. This would allow script writing I am pretty sure. 

The scan module would not be an issue. It doesn't interrupt the JIT, I think. Script writing might be an issue. If I remember correctly emulator JIT's are optimized so creating a weird jump in the non-JITed code might cause issues or slowdowns.  

I am pretty sure that you would need permission from the people over at cheat engine but that shouldn't be an issue.

These are running on my assumptions so feel free to correct them.
Why are you using cheat engine instead of gameshark codes?
(04-04-2017, 09:31 PM)Ulblast Wrote: [ -> ]Why are you using cheat engine instead of gameshark codes?