A few questions about Pnach files.
Hello everyone.

I am a bit of a rookie with the PCSX program. I have played quite a few games successfully now and have begun experimenting with patches/hacks.

Currently I am playing Socom: Combined Assault. The game plays perfectly with no patches/hacks. No graphical errors, runs at consist 55-60 fps.

Just today though I have introduced a list of pnach files, and now I am experiencing a long list of errors.

First of all, after enabling the hacks and booting the game, I was confronted by an in game message stating that the save data was corrupt. Lost all my game data.

Continued on and started a new game, upon which I found huge / unplayable amounts of graphical errors. Disappearing characters, and a flashing grey screen of doom.

Finally, some of the codes are recognised and load properly, but do not perform their task. the prime example being "Unlimited health" When I am shot in game my health bar does not decrease, but I am still killed.

So my questions are:

Why are the hacks causing graphical errors and is it possible to fix them ?

Why are the codes not performing their "programmed" duty (Why am I dying with infinite health?)

Sponsored links

Pnach codes write to the memory of a game basically. Sometimes games have a certain CRC checker for Save Files, so when you Save a game or try to load a game while codes are being used, it might act as if it's all corrupt. Final Fantasy 12 is a good example. If you use certain codes there without a 'bypass' code you'll end up getting nothing but corrupt errors when trying to load any game.

Grandia 3 is the same as well. You need to turn off all codes in Grandia 3 before loading your game - THEN you can turn them on. Otherwise you'll just be greeted with corrupt Saves as well.