All games run slow
Hello all.

I am new to emulating PS2 (but not emulating in general). I'm trying to play my PS2 games in better quality than the PS2 itself does. No matter what game I play though, I always lag to around 50% speed. I know PS2 emulation may not be easy on the computer, but I've got a fairly good computer. I used to emulate gamecube with no problems. I will type my specs below.

I have tried several different "best configuration guides", with no changes. I have tested Jak 2, Jak 3, and God of War 1, with pretty similar results across the board. They play, but they lag to unplayability. Jak 2 I ripped to ISO, but I tried all three straight from the disk, and still the slowdown persists. I have played around with the settings in the speedhack menu, I am running PCSX2 1.4.0, which I believe is the current version.

When I run a game (picking jak 2 as the example) speed hovers around 50%. I have tried using both the software and hardware renderers for Direct 3D 9 and 11. I am only trying to play the games at 3x native, but the game still lags to 50% when just using native.

Windows 7
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T processor (6 cores, 3.20 GHz for speed)
10gb of DDR3 Ram, composed of three 2gb sticks and a 4 gb stick
AMD Radeon HD 6670 graphics card with 1gb onboard memory

I recently re-installed windows from scratch to fix other issues (I believe a driver incompatibility with windows 10, but I was never certain; the issue is gone now.) and I have not had issues with any programs other than PCSX2 (this is my first time ever trying to run PCSX2; thought I'd make that clear, since it seemed a little ambiguous.) Any help or suggestions would be very much appreciated.

If you need any more information, feel free to ask.

Sponsored links