Allocating Ram
Does allocating More ram Boost up the Gameplay?

Sponsored links

unless your PC uses swp very often, no...
CPU : AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Mobo : Asus PRIME B450-PLUS
GPU : NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3070
RAM : 16 Go
(06-17-2012, 11:33 PM)jesalvein Wrote: unless your PC uses swp very often, no...

Sorry im really new to PCSX2 but whats Swp?
swp = swap , aka pagefile , when you dont have enough ram, your computer uses a file on the hard drive to substitute ram, but its alot slower then ram causing the pc to run more slowly since it has to keep writing/reading data from the swap file.

You can tell if your pc is using swap by looking at the hard drive light on your computer (if its constantly lit then its a good chance the pc doesn't have enough ram, you can also look in task manger at the pagefile usage.)

I doubt this would be an issue with pcsx2 though.
(06-17-2012, 11:14 PM)Isakilla Wrote: Does allocating More ram Boost up the Gameplay?

What does that mean? adding more ram to your computer?
This is a doozy from the get go

the term allocation refers to to an application or kernel usage of paging tables and mapping to physical memory.

are you asking about the benefits of 4GB allocation or the actual installation of additional memory?
Isakiller Wrote:Does allocating More ram Boost up the Gameplay?

Please give us your specs. That should answer a lot of things.

If you have 4GB or more memory then go ahead and use the 4GB patch on the executable program which will allow PCSX2 to use a little more memory (Hey devs, why don't you give out PCSX2 pre-patched with this anyway? What's the downside?) - but if you have less than 4GB then I wouldn't bother.