Custom res VS multiplier and GPU "stoppages"
So I usually use 3x res because thats what people usually recomend and seems to work without downgrading performance on any game I play (with GTX 560ti).

Yesterday though I decided to try custom res of 1920*1080 and I can see subtle increase in resolution detail which ofcourse I find more enjoyable but I have heard custom res can cause some problems.

Something I experienced while playing SotC at custom res was that the screen sort of "wrapped" or squuezed vertically for a brief fraction of a second. This was on PCSX2 1.2.1 version with very minimal speedhacks and only two hack/fixes enabled (agressive CRC and half pixel offset ?). I dont know if this happens with resolution multiplier or is some sort of problem caused by the new version because when I started playing SotC in hard mode I switched from 1.1.0 to 1.2.1 (due to save states/incompatibility) and also decided to mess around with the GSDX resolution settings.

So is it something caused by the new version or is this a side effect caused by custom resolution ?

Theres also a new problem that I have encountered a couple of times with the new PCSX2 version that I cant recall ever experiencing in the older versions.

If I switch between software mode and hardware mode by using F9 OR like I just yesterday discovered, switch between full screen and windowed (by double clicking) the screen sometimes goes completely black and doesnt go to the mode Im trying to enable. I can get back to the last mode by pressing F9/Double clicking again but then my GPU stops responding for 2 seconds. This shows up in MSI afterburner as a drop in GPU usage and minimum fan speed and then returning to normal (Im using custom fan accelration/cooling thingy but havent done any overclocking).