Posts: 812
Threads: 59
Joined: Oct 2012
Reputation:
4
Location: Gak roh
i saw some changes GUI that sskash does. he good at gui. while ee overclock and underclock can be change from pcsx2_vm.ini that already done by rama. my sugestion. why don't we make slider on ee overclock and underclock ? i think sskash can do that. it is just my sugestion. thank you
Im sorry i often misstype because im using cellphone...Y( '',)Y
Posts: 8.597
Threads: 105
Joined: May 2014
Reputation:
169
Location: 127.0.0.1
Not really, Overclocking EE was never enabled through the pcsx2_vm.ini.
take a look at the code,
Code:
if (EmuConfig.Speedhacks.EECycleRate > 2 && EmuConfig.Speedhacks.EECycleRate < 100) {
scalarLow *= EmuConfig.Speedhacks.EECycleRate;
scalarMid *= EmuConfig.Speedhacks.EECycleRate;
scalarHigh *= EmuConfig.Speedhacks.EECycleRate;
}
where it only accepts value between 3-99 and pumps up the scalar values even higher depending on the value. so overclocking was never done before
overclocking is fairly simple though. just reduce the scalar values even further to make sure that the scale of cycles per instructions are even higher (or) something. not sure though, Ref didn't give me much idea
I could implement overclocking on the GUI but there are some reasons on why I wouldn't do so,
1/ Blyss already did this and didn't PR it for some reasons, If I did this now it would be like stealing other person's valuable work which would be disturbing me.
2/ see reason #1
That's all
We're supposed to be working as a team, if we aren't helping and suggesting things to each other, we aren't working as a team.
- Refraction
Posts: 812
Threads: 59
Joined: Oct 2012
Reputation:
4
Location: Gak roh
is it mean, it will never be implemented?
Im sorry i often misstype because im using cellphone...Y( '',)Y
Posts: 12.837
Threads: 48
Joined: Oct 2013
Reputation:
253
08-24-2015, 04:31 PM
(This post was last modified: 08-24-2015, 04:32 PM by Nobbs66.)
It was never PR'd because Avih was supposed to be working on a better way to implement it. The current system won't allow for a predictable overclock on the EE.
Posts: 8.597
Threads: 105
Joined: May 2014
Reputation:
169
Location: 127.0.0.1
08-24-2015, 04:32 PM
(This post was last modified: 08-24-2015, 04:33 PM by ssakash.)
(08-24-2015, 04:27 PM)billyash Wrote: is it mean, it will never be implemented?
not really, I mean I'll wait for Blyss to PR it (it was his idea). don't really know why he didn't PR yet though

If he doesn't want to do it for some reasons, maybe I'll consider it.
(08-24-2015, 04:31 PM)Nobbs66 Wrote: It was never PR'd because Avih was supposed to be working on a better way to implement it. The current system won't allow for a predictable overclock on the EE.
better way ? what would that be ?
We're supposed to be working as a team, if we aren't helping and suggesting things to each other, we aren't working as a team.
- Refraction
Posts: 5.076
Threads: 18
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation:
154
08-24-2015, 04:37 PM
(This post was last modified: 08-24-2015, 04:38 PM by willkuer.)
Timing seems to be fixed in an arbitrary way.
They first want to fix timing to an accurate way before they want to play with clocks.
There is somewhere an open github issue showing some part of the discussion.
Edit:
-.-''
You are too fast.
Posts: 8.597
Threads: 105
Joined: May 2014
Reputation:
169
Location: 127.0.0.1
bumped up the issue a bit , maybe I'll get a response
We're supposed to be working as a team, if we aren't helping and suggesting things to each other, we aren't working as a team.
- Refraction
Posts: 812
Threads: 59
Joined: Oct 2012
Reputation:
4
Location: Gak roh
(08-24-2015, 04:37 PM)Nobbs66 Wrote: It's in this issue
https://github.com/PCSX2/pcsx2/issues/153
i think slider in real clock ( Mhz) is good idea. instead of EE cyclerate :
Im sorry i often misstype because im using cellphone...Y( '',)Y