Mercenaries excessive bloom seems to be z-buffer related
excuse me if im way off as im a novice with this sort of thing.

i was playing mercenaries: playground of destruction with the recommended settings (software mode ect.) but was getting rather annoyed at the issue with the horizontal lines on screen.

switched it over to hardware mode and the bloom just exploded everywhere (a commonly reported bug). 
i increased the skipdraw to 100 which got rid of the bloom, but now there was a different problem...
(please excuse this next section, this is where my lack of knowledge in the area may show, but ill explain it best i can)

the pixels appear to retain their depth value from one frame to the next, meaning that the old pixel wont be drawn over unless the new pixel has a depth that is less than the old one.
in laymans terms you can only see new things if they are closer than the last object you saw.

This causes the bloom to crawl across the screen because it is an alpha-transparent effect applied last, and has a depth of zero (meaning that no object can be closer to the screen than it, so it is always drawn)
So, assuming you are standing still, what happens is:
1. the game tries to figure out what needs to be drawn over the previous frame
2. as nothing is closer to the screen than it was before, it draws nothing in the environment (a process that, if the pixel depth information was being properly discarded between frames, would normally erase the bloom from the previous frame)
3. post-processing kicks in and tries to determine what elements in the frame needs to have bloom applied to it (as the frame has not been redrawn, its analyzing the previous frame INCLUDING THE PREVIOUS FRAME'S BLOOM)
4. it applies bloom to all the bright bits (over the top of the last frame's bloom, making it brighter)