Posts: 8.597
Threads: 105
Joined: May 2014
Reputation:
169
Location: 127.0.0.1
It should be feasible, you need to modify the SetGsCrt SYSCALL parameters to use whatever video modes you desire.
I see two possibilities for that,
- Direct modification of an assembly level instruction.
- Write a sequence of instructions in an unused portion of EE memory space and then use JAL to jump to it and execute the sequence.
We're supposed to be working as a team, if we aren't helping and suggesting things to each other, we aren't working as a team.
- Refraction
Posts: 3.691
Threads: 79
Joined: Jan 2016
Reputation:
71
Location: USA
05-01-2017, 04:27 PM
(This post was last modified: 05-01-2017, 04:30 PM by CK1.)
You're really contradicting what you just said, you can't have both accuracy and upscaling - you need to pick one or the other. Playing in software mode at a higher resolution isn't what accuracy is about. It's about playing the games as they originally appeared on the console. Emulation isn't just about enhancing the original experience, there needs to be a fine line between user enhancements and the preservation/original behavior, which is what software mode is intended for.
The 1080i mode was almost never used outside of Gran Turismo 4 and a few other games. Also, it wasn't actually 1080i it was a software trick, just like the PS3 did to upscale PS2 games after they removed the EE and GS from later models to reduce costs.
Posts: 3.691
Threads: 79
Joined: Jan 2016
Reputation:
71
Location: USA
Close but it's the opposite, most PS2 games are 480i but some have support for progressive scan (480p) either through Triangle + X or an in-game menu option. A game could output at 480i, but the resolution could be half of that to accommodate the game engine's performance.
Well we're talking about software mode aren't we? It doesn't matter what mods people have on their console, we're trying to preserve the original behavior. That why we gove two options.
Posts: 95
Threads: 12
Joined: Mar 2017
Reputation:
0
Location: Sweden
Ok, then i understand. But atleast forcing games progressive in software mode shouldnt be any problem?
I read some reviews and anything beyond 480p gives trouble indeed with the Xploder atleast (assume its the same for GSM in freemcboot).
Posts: 1.004
Threads: 10
Joined: Apr 2017
Reputation:
46
Even enabling progressive scan can have issues if the developers of the game specifically used the properties of interlacing to do certain visuals. Though to be fair most of those do not work quite right on modern displays anyways. There are multiple deinterlacing modes since there is no one perfect solution. (unless the game was made to work in progressive scan mode)
Posts: 6.069
Threads: 68
Joined: May 2010
Reputation:
167
Location: Grenoble, France
05-02-2017, 10:19 AM
(This post was last modified: 05-02-2017, 10:20 AM by gregory.)
People need to remember that GS memory is 4 megabytes (yes MB, it isn't a typo). Now the math question, how many 1080i textures could you put in such a big memory? You can be cheap, if you want, you can limit the color to 16 bits instead of the standard 32 bits.
Note a 3d games need a color buffer and a depth buffer.