Should my fps be this low?
Hi, I am new to pcsx2 but tried it once before with no luck.
I decided to give it another go, now that i can connect my ps3 controller to my computer.

Anyway, my specs are:

CPU: Intel Quad Q9550 @ 2.8 GHz ( yes I know I should OC it, I will eventually)
GPU: ATI RADEON HD 4850 1GB
RAM: 4GB

Graphics Plugin: GSdx SSE4.1
- res: 640x480
- renderer: DirectX 10 (Hardware)
- interlacing: none
- Aspect: 4:3
- D3D internal: native
- Texture Filtering: Grey tick
- Allow 8-bit: tick
- wait vsync: untick
- enable output merger blur effect: untick
(rest is greyed out)

Sound Plugin: SPU2-X (default settings)

everything else is default for pcsx2 0.9.6

So I have tried a few games and when things are moving I never really get more than 30 fps (PAL) and alot of the time its in the low 20's.

So my question is, Is this the fps I should be getting? If it is, so be it.

thanks.

Sponsored links

It depends on the specific games, but yeah, that's a bit on the low side. I would recommend trying the beta r1888 first, before anything else.
Nappa: Vegeta! What does the scouter say about his power level?
Vegeta: It's...one thousand and six.
Nappa: Wh-...really?
Vegeta: Yeah! Beat him up Nappa!
Nappa: Yay!
depends on the games you've tried, really.
CPU : AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Mobo : Asus PRIME B450-PLUS
GPU : NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3070
RAM : 16 Go
I have a Q9400 and an ATI x1650xt -- both OC'd -- and typically get 60-100fps in most games, and 25-50 in the "slow" games (or in specific slower scenes). That's with speedhacks disabled. Of course some games are just known to run like crap on any system - Soul Calibur 3 (~6fps) and Xenosaga1 for example. So yeah, the game matters alot. Wink
Jake Stine (Air) - Programmer - PCSX2 Dev Team
Thanks for the fast replies.

I downloaded and installed the beta, fps stays at 50 most of the time now, dropping to lowest of 40 places, so far, but not often (very playable) Smile

Thanks.