..:: PCSX2 Forums ::..

Full Version: HELP ME IM NEW
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi,

Im new to this PS2 Emulator, im wondering whether it will run games ( Mainly Fight Night Round 3 and Tekken Games) at a speed worth playing on my system:

AMD X4 Phenom II 965 Black Edition (3.4GHz)
4GB Kingston DDR2 1066
XFX GTX 260 Black Edition
Asus M4N72-E

And could someone please help me with configuring the plugins, I have the latest PCSX2 0.97.

Thanks
Callum
it should run at playable speeds, as long as you don't push interal res too high. to configure properley : http://pcsx2.net/guide.php
Hello callum92. If my CPU was a 6.4 yours would be like a 47.4 but you could only use half of that in PCSX2 since only 2 cores are supported. Those are in terms of billions of floating point operations a second. I'm getting full speed on FFX, half speed on MGS3 and 3/4 speed on FFXII, so you should be able to run most games without a problem. The only game I could think of that would tax your CPU much would be Tekken 5.

If you want to see how my performance is, take a look:

Get GSDX 0.1.9, SPUX-2 and Lilypad 0.1.0, these are the best plugins for most games.

Use speedhacks when possible, I can only run the games at the speeds mentioned if I use the speedhacks.

EE cycle rate -33 or -50% helps with games that weren't limited by the PS2s computational ability, VU cycle stealing mild, moderate or maximum helps with games that tax your CPU for the Emotion Engine portion but don't quite 'deliver' when it comes to pre-processing the display lists. I double my Framerate in FFX with both maxed, and I check Wait Loop Hack for the extra 10% it provides.