..:: PCSX2 Forums ::..

Full Version: Thinking of upgrading!
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hi, I don't really have the best computer in the world but thinking of upgrading the gear!
So right now I have a,

nVidia GeForce 310
Pentium® Dual-Core CPU E5400 @ 2.70GHz
4GB Ram

I don't just want to use it for the pcsx2 emulator, because that's what it's supposed to be related to!
But I want to be able to run emulators at a higher speed and be able to record at the same time!
And I'm not an expert so I would like to know what's important to focus on and stuff!

Because these emulators for PS2 and Gamecube for example uses alot of horse power!
I would love if I wouldn't need to OC something because that would need alot more fan power and stuff.

Thanks in advance! Biggrin
My rig last year is an e5200 and 9500GT.. so sad it can't run PCSX2 in good speed.. but when I upgraded to i5 2400 and gt440 last march.. I able to play pcsx2 in playable speed and record at the same time... without lagging...
i5/i7 will help BIG TIME. And though the GPU doesn't help a whole lot, it never hurts to have a good one. I personally have the GTX580 and love it.
Upgrade your CPU to Intel Core I7 / I5 Sandy Bridge or higher, that have High Clocks by default. (~3.4 Ghz) Upgrading your CPU means to upgrade your motherboard etc. Wacko

You'd better get a New PC.

Also, Gamecube Emulator Dolphin Require less Emulation power as compared to PCSX2.
Thanks everyone for your advice and thoughts!
Just to make it clear that I am able to run Kingdom Hearts without lag but in combat with more enemies, then it starts to lag and have slow downs. Ruins the experience but works at the moment.
Yeah I will consider buying a new one but I like mine already but it just doesn't keep up with todays standards.
Thanks again!

PS, yeah I know but Dolphin still requires some horse power!