..:: PCSX2 Forums ::..

Full Version: How to dump bios file from PS2 via USB drive
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello

I'm new to this console modding thing but I'm pretty familiar with console emulation. I've been playing the PlayStation 2 ever since I got my first one back in Christmas of '07. Since then, I've played some awesome titles but I've also experienced consoles not working. The most recent working PS2 I had stopped working around 2015 and I've only played PC games and console titles on other emulators (such as ePSXe) exclusively since. Since my last PS2 stopped working, I've been thinking of getting another one, but I decided since I've seen several PS2s of mine stop working (all black and all slim model), I've decided to try out an emulator instead.

I looked here on PCSX2 since it was probably the only PS2 emulator I know. I went through the setup and it told me to not download a bios from the internet and instead dump it from the console. I have a few consoles around so I guess I can do that. The steps I need to do is to burn an iso file onto a CD-R, put a USB in to collect the bios file, run the program on the disc when the console starts, dump it onto the USB, and finished. The problem is that I don't think any PS2s in my house can read discs nor do I think I have any unburned CD-Rs so my only option is a USB drive which I have. I've looked onto forums where I can do it from a USB by extracting the .elf files from the .iso's and such but I keep seeing that I have to do this to do this and so forth.

I would like to know the whole process on what I need to do to dump a bios file from a console using only a USB drive. I'd like to play some of my favorite PS2 games on my PC. Let me know what I need to know.